The Lord Bless And Keep You

Wayne Drain

Reviewed by Jonathan Sinclair

The Hudson Taylors are, of course, the much loved folk/roots/Americana side project of the hugely experienced Noel Richards, Brian Houston and Wayne Drain and this could be called the long-delayed followup to their 2002 album 'Hurricane'. Combining a mix of new and classic worship songs The Hudson Taylors create a unique sound that has a diversity that will appeal to a wide audience. The first standout track of the album is "Praise God (From Whom All Blessings Flow)", which is a stunning reworking of the classic hymn, with a melody provided by a piano fading in and out along with guitars underpinning with some solid drumming. This is followed by a new version of Richards' "By Your Side" that utilizes harmonies with subtle guitar and drumming to great effect. Another standout "You Are" is a rock number performed with intricate guitar playing, strong vocals and again underpinned by equally strong drumming. Houston fans will love his new version of the radio hit "We Don't Need Religion" with revised lyrics which carry an even stronger message emphasising that we need the love of God and not religion. With strong positive themes and excellent production this is a showcase for three mature songwriting talents firing at the top of their game.

  1. The Lord Bless And Keep You
  2. We Don't Need Religion
  3. As For Me And My House
  4. Praise God(From Whom All Blessings Flow)
  5. By Your Side
  6. Draw Me To Your Sacred Place- Seek Y E First
  7. Be Still My Soul
  8. You Are
  9. All The Saints
  10. Breath Of Love
Read more… close